Is a tablet necessary to fly the P3

Reaction score
I've been flying a P2 for almost two years and have a P3 coming soon. In the meantime, I want to know if I require a tablet/smartphone to fly the P3, I know a tablet/smartphone is useful and has many advantages, but if I want to fly the P3 for 30 seconds to test something or to drain the battery, is it necessary to have a tablet/smartphone connected?

I do own a tablet/smartphone, my question is not about never using a tablet, I just want to understand if a tablet/smartphone is absolutely necessary.

Thanks,

Last edited:
Absolutely not necessary! Just yesterday, while shooting images for a spherical panorama, while 500 feet over water, my iPad Air 2 suddenly rebooted itself, leaving me looking at an Apple logo, while the green RC transmitter light remained fully lit, unaffected. After a minute, the tablet rebooted, and I reopened the DJI Go app, and continued shooting the rest of the images I needed. The P3P remained stationary and under full control of the transmitter during the entire time the app was closed.:cool: What triggered the iPad Air 2 crash remains a mystery. The only thing different about this mission was the hand drawn flight path on the map, which, of course, was lost during the reboot. A bug perhaps?

You can fly with line of sight using the controls without visual through the phone/tablet.

You can fly with line of sight using the controls without visual through the phone/tablet.

at the moment I'm using a v1.1.1 but as soon as, I'm going to get a P3A with my v1.1.1 I'm now so used to flying FPV using Fat Shark goggles which I'll have to update with the P3A at a cost so I'd rather not have to buy a tablet as well so is it possible to use a P3A setting it up on my PC by flying it solely LOS and goggles, I do have a Samsung s4 mobile that maybe I could fit to the P3A if I have to,so if I have to could I still plug in my goggles somewhere?