Irratic flight behavior w/Phantom 2

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a newbie but I've flown my phantom 2 now several times in the last 4 weeks since I've owned it. I've read all about the flyaways, etc. and that hasn't happened to me, BUT... I am NOT confident in the way my last two flights went... which ended in crash landings & broken props. The two flights have been in the middle of the Colorado rockies. Once was at about 8000ft in a wide open field - no towers/power lines, and the latest one was at about 11,000 feet and again open space with nothing to interfere. No idea how many satellite locks I'm getting (how do you tell that?) but I follow the procedures in the manual and also calibrate the compass before every flight. I would assume I would be getting a lot of signal seeing as I am at such high altitude.

Basically the drone seems to "drop" a foot or so when trying to hover and also drifts left or right. When I try to land, it comes down really fast, becomes uncontrollable and then wham... hits the ground. I haven't tried to go real high or anything because to be honest, I'm TERRIFIED.

I have the zenmuse 3D attached as well as a little unit to send a video feed. Here is the kit I bought: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JRE ... UTF8&psc=1 (I didn't install the Iosd mini -- don't even know what that does?) I just wanted a video feed so I can see what i'm filming. Would the signal from this be interfering??? It flew a lot better before I added this but still it wasn't perfect (however I COULD land it!)

I also have not calibrated anything because I am on a Mac and don't have access to a PC.

You will be my hero if you have any info to help!!! Thank you!!

Attachments

• juliesphantom.jpg
    juliesphantom.jpg
    134.4 KB · Views: 576
So are you saying that it flies around fine but you can't control descent?