Ipad mini 4 64gb video freezes

Reaction score
Hello all. I have been an avid drone pilot for years. I started with a P3P and have a P4P more recently. I had always used an android phone (note 4 or 5) and even a tablet 4 10" which were all flawless. I had acquired a Ipad mini 4 64gb w/cellular because I had heard discussions about the screen brightness in daylight. I tried to use it on my P3P early on and ran into issues of the screen freezing in flight or slow updating on the live feed. This became a safety issue that I never experienced with my android devices. I even pulled it out to use on my P4P and had the same issues.

Is there some special settings needed to use it on any of these drones? I'm happy to use my android devices which have been excellent, but its something that's never been solved.

Thanks for any advice!

I have the same problem with my iPad Mini 4 128gb with cell & wi-fi. My iPad Pro works just fine, but the mini screen keeps flipping a green screen during videos. I have no idea what setting I have wrong.

Look for hardware decoding and enable it. That might be the cause. Note, this has been removed from the latest GO4 app I heard, it's always enabled in the latest version if that's what you're using.

This could also be Wi-Fi interference, so try switching to 5.8Ghz in P4P, or as last resort set to a custom channel with low traffic showing in the HD traffic monitor.

Where do I find "hardware decoding"? On the iPad device or the drone?

It is now flashing "Mobile device CPU fully loaded". So how do I unload it? Help!

I'm using the latest version. Bummer!

Try factory default on that iPad. It should work perfectly fine. Delete the go app and reinstall in the process. Disable video cache and bring down the live feed bit rate to 4 or 6mbs if problems persist. But it seems that ipad needs a fresh start and start again. Also consider the cable you're using and try another.

That's scary, a full wipeout and restart, but I'll give it a go. Tnx