Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Insurance to protect

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by mlopez60120, Sep 25, 2014.

1. mlopez60120

I am a newbie I live in the USA just bought a phantom 2 Vision. I need to know if there is a way to get insurance to cover in case it flyaway or crashes on a property. I like in Florida.

If no insurance how can I protect my investment. I have a check list before flying but I am concern.

2. rrmccabe

Tracking device is a must in my opinion.

3. mlopez60120

4. lutece7

you should be more concerned about getting liability insurance to protect you from a million dollar law suit, than from losing at $1200 drone. The liability insurance might only cost $500, but I would imagine that if anyone DID sell Drone loss insurance it would be at least $500 on a $1200 drone, because the risks of losing one are so high. Whereas the risk of damaging someone's body, or property to the tune of 1 million dollars is much lower. But that risk is still very much there.

5. mmn

mmn

I so agree. I don't fly this thing around people and private property (much) for that very reason. Maybe after a few hundred flights, but for now with about 20 flights I'm just not that confident it's always gonna do what I say, when I say it, and nothing else!

6. rrmccabe

You are going to get many opinions but you can search for tracking device.

I chose a Maro Polo. There are also devices that rely on cellular to transmit location back to you which requires a cell data plan. There are also bluetooth devices which i would avoid.

There are a few other types including beacon type transmitters. For me I would want something that shows location on a map or has a device that points direction.

7. kirbinster

I too have a Marco Polo on my bird. As for liability your homeowners or umbrella policy should cover you.

8. lutece7

9. CYeutter