Impressed with Phantom 4 Collision Avoidance!

Reaction score
I would like to say that I took my Phantom 3 and Phantom 4 into the skies together to see if the Phantom 4 would recognize another drone in the air with the collision avoidance system. It was a little scary but full throttle on the stick and it didn't even budge! Kudos to DJI for a great system so far!
File_000.png

I tested my collision avoidance on a couple of instances today. It picks up cactus trees, so not too bad!

Please remember that the greatest collision danger are power lines. Can the avoidance system detect those?

I'm a seasoned P3P pilot and can see trees and cell towers so avoidance systems arent necessary for those types of large objects that can be easily seen on the FPV screen. But those **** power lines are nearly invisible! :eek:

Glad to see positive feedback!! I love my p4 so far. Very interested in a power line recognition test. Maybe I'll setup a prop about 5 feet off the ground to simulate power lines and do a little test with a video.

Reactions: Richard in ky
Glad to see positive feedback!! I love my p4 so far. Very interested in a power line recognition test. Maybe I'll setup a prop about 5 feet off the ground to simulate power lines and do a little test with a video.
You could set something up using toilet paper at various widths that way it wouldn't hurt if you crashed into it. Maybe a long piece rowed up to the width of a power line may have to color it somehow.

You could set something up using toilet paper at various widths that way it wouldn't hurt if you crashed into it. Maybe a long piece rowed up to the width of a power line may have to color it somehow.
Are you sure toilet paper on the propellers while the drone is flying won't hurt?

Are you sure toilet paper on the propellers while the drone is flying won't hurt?