How to setup Phantom 2 FPV with iOSD mini but without gimbal

Reaction score
Hello All,

I am a noob at the mulitrotor flying, can anyone please help me figure out the best way to get the FPV working with the Phantom 2 using iOSD mini but not using the gimbal.

Things I have:
Phantom 2
Phantom 2 Jello Killer
FPV Camera
Fat shark FPV Transmitter
7" LCD with Dual Diversity Receiver
iOSD mini
and plug and play cable for phantom 2 to iosd mini to fat shark/ immersionrc vtx.

My issue is how to get video out from my camera (microusb out/ mini hdmi out) to the phantom 2 board (guess somehow have to join it with the gimbal 8 port cable, that is what runs the video to the board). Can somebody point me to a cable connector that I could use, perhaps a micro usb video out to gimbal 8 port connector.

Thanks in advance. :D

Appreciate all your help.

Re: How to setup Phantom 2 FPV with iOSD mini but without gi

While your logic is sound, I'm afraid you can't just patch in to the 8-strand gimbal cable that goes to the mainboard. With the gear you already have, I'd probably suggest getting a USB video cable for the gopro and splicing that in to the video leads on your all-in-one cable.

You would need to start with something like this: http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index. ... ts_id=1295

The video and ground leads in that cable would then need to splice to the same leads in your all-in-one cable, where the latter would normally connect to the Phantom's mainboard. You would still leave the other two leads (power and ground) in your all-in-one cable connected as normal so they can power the Transmitter.

I've probably made it sound more complicated than it is, let me know if I can clarify or if you want more details. This solution will just bypass the video feed through the Phantom's mainboard and go straight to the iOSD and on to the transmitter, while retaining the power supply for the Tx.