How to Discharge a P4 Battery to 20-30% for air travel.

D

Deleted member 76824

Hi all.

I'm going away soon and am really looking to understand the best method (I do not own a discharge hub) to discharge my batteries to a safe percentage for travel. I believe, correct me if I am wrong please, that this is 20 - 30%.

Please could you help me with the best way to discharge my batteries safely? I have never done this before.

Thanks!

Why not fly to 50%?

Having said that, there's no need for special travel levels (in USA at least).

Who is going to measure them and how?

Allow self discharge as per the 'auto' feature to storage level or fly to 50% and pack in carry-on..

Is there any harm powering up the drone and letting the battery run down that way? Then shut down when battery is at the desired level? I know here in Ohio is cold outside so flying to drain the battery is not a desirable option.

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots

Is there any harm powering up the drone and letting the battery run down that way? Then shut down when battery is at the desired level? I know here in Ohio is cold outside so flying to drain the battery is not a desirable option.

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots

Yeah I guess I could do that. I wouldn't run the motors unnecessarily though, just for the sake of longevity of use, so it may take a while to drain, but I think that's the easiest way for now! Thanks for the reply.

You can power on and idle the motors . These are brushless motors, which should almost outlast the plastic airframe unless abused.

But that's like saying "I unplug my USB drive without ejecting it first" or "I remove my disc without quitting the PS4 game" or "I drive without a seatbelt, zero issues". All of which are recommended against.