How much does radio towers effect signal??

Reaction score
I am new to this so I am not positive on the terminology, but I will try. I have 25? flights with a P3S, and have been loving it. I was getting a message all the time saying poor signal fly with caution. I was getting aggravated with it so I ordered a new Inspire 1 holder for a tablet, and while I was at it I ordered an Itelite antenna and upgraded it as well. Well when I went out to test it I was getting lines going across my iPad Mini, so I thought it was a signal issue, but when I switched back to my iPhone that was cleared up, so not sure why thats happening. I was in a field, and sent the drone about 300' up, and headed away, at about 800' it did a RTH and came back. I was a little disappointed and emailed Maxx, and they have been great, and trying to walk me thru and get the files. I uploaded them to HealthyDrones, and everything looked OK as far as the signal, so I am not sure why I am still having an issue. There is a large radio tower about 2000' away behind me, which I am sure has multiple radio antenna, and cell signals. So is that what is giving me the issues, and is there a way to see why I am getting the weak signal?

TIA Derek

Maybe the way you are aiming the panel and those lines are they constant or just at times . I guess certain towers might give you troubles
and I havn't tried to fly around one of those radio towers as we only have one and it's in town .
But did this just really to test for myself and had no signal issues .

There is a large radio tower about 2000' away behind me, which I am sure has multiple radio antenna, and cell signals. So is that what is giving me the issues
Try flying in a different location and see if the same thing happens. That'll be the easiest way to see if the radio tower is negatively affecting the signal.