How long does it take...

Reaction score
To not get nervous about losing your drone?? Lol...

I just got my Phantom 2 NV last week, and took it on my first "real" flight yesterday. As it was ascending, I was getting nervous about how high I should go and all that... worrying about losing signal, fly-away, all that stuff. I bet I didn't get it half as high as I could have, but I'm not use to guesstimating altitude yet.

I am REALLY loving this thing! Onward and upward! :)

Spend a few more dollars and add FPV system to you quad so you'll know what altitude and distance you're at.

I have had over 200 flights and I still get nervous. But, much less so than in the beginning. It is a good thing to have a checklist procedure when prepping for flight.
These things will fail, be prepared to repair in the future. I have an extra gimbal and camera when it does happen, hopefully not over water. It is just a case of building confidence over time with numerous successful flights in a row. Even then, **** happens. Right now I am dealing with batteries that are starting the "soft" fail mode. Check the battery life by holding down the battery power button for 5 seconds until the led blinks. If you have one blinking LED, don't use the battery in critical situations. It may try to Auto land with only 80% charge left.
I fly by FPV only with goggles. I can't imagine not having the flight data in front of me all the time with the iosd mini.

I have had over 200 flights and I still get nervous. But, much less so than in the beginning. It is a good thing to have a checklist procedure when prepping for flight.