Help with UK and CAA regulations - Police caution

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to this hobby, but have already been on the receiving end of the law regarding their use. Around a week ago, I was flying over an area of large parkland in my city which included a lake at it's centre. It is surrounded by houses, but from the location I was flying they were a good 75-100 meters away and I was 120 meters up in the air. There was only a handful of people in the park. I put some pics and photos on Facebook which is where the complaint come from.

A police officer call round this morning, and issued me with a formal caution for flying the Phantom - Stating that flying over any major town/city even if I was in the park is against the law.

I've looked up the rules from the CAA, and if I interpreted them correctly it would appear that he is right, and flight in the UK over literally anything and anyone is prohibited?

CAA regarding general use of unmanned aircraft:
The person in charge of a small unmanned aircraft must maintain direct, unaided visual contact with the aircraft sufficient to monitor its flight path in relation to other aircraft, persons, vehicles, vessels and structures for the purpose of avoiding collisions. Not exceed a height of more than 400 feet above the surface, and the flight must not be for commercial use.

CAA additional restrictions on surveillance aircraft:
The person in charge of a small unmanned surveillance aircraft must not fly the aircraft in any of the circumstances described in paragraph 2 except in accordance with a permission issued by the CAA. From paragraph 2 - Flight is prohibited over or within 150 metres of any congested area; over or within 150 metres of an organised open-air assembly of more than 1,000 persons; within 50 metres of any vessel, vehicle or structure which is not under the control of the person in charge of the aircraft and within 50 metres of any person.

CAA definition of terms: