HELP! Battery drain in seconds after takeoff

Reaction score
I'm new on the forum and a new phantom user. Hopefully the community can help, and will forgive me if I ask any stupid questions :D

My phantom has developed a fault. As soon as I take off the LED begins to blink red rapidly, then after a few seconds it goes to failsafe mode and lands. It seems the battery has drained completely.

The same happens with all three of my batteries (two of which are new third party batteries, the other one is the original DJI battery, which came used with the phantom). I have no experience with these lipo batteries, and I understand they have their quirks, but as far as I know I haven't mistreated them. I've been using the supplied phantom charger.

I'm using a gopro and a cheap chinese gimbal (goodluckbuy I think, though it wasn't sold as such), which I have set up pitch control for. I've tried flying the phantom with pitch control disconnected, and with the gimbal power disconnected and had the same problem.

Yes, the phantom has had a few bumps. Nothing I'd describe a major crash though, no big impacts. Any idea what could be wrong? The manual indicates that rapid red LED blinking means low voltage alert or "other error". Other error? Thanks DJI! Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Welcome to the forum.
I am not too familiar with that model Phantom, but you are describing a battery with one dead cell. I recall that the Phantom 1 uses off-the-shelf batteries, so you should be using a balancing charger. (describe your charging station an workflow). Your charger may have an option to do a balanced discharge, then recharge it.

Thanks for your reply SteveMann. I only have the basic BC20-4 charger. Any other way I could do a balanced discharge?

If it's indeed a problem of the batteries having one dead cell, any idea how it could have happened to all three of my batteries? Did I do something wrong? If I buy new batteries I don't want to make the same mistake