Hello from Athens, OH! First video.

Reaction score
Hello to the Phantom Forum from Athens, OH. I have been flying for a couple of weeks with my Phantom 3 Standard and am really enjoying it. So far I have mostly been concentrating on safety and flight control but will be turning my attention more to camera settings to optimize image and video quality soon.

I am a photography professor at Ohio University and l at some point I will have to go through the process of getting my 107 certificate to keep everything legal so I can incorporate using drones for stills and video into the courses.

First rough video from my second flight over the hills of Southeast Ohio:

If this is for educational course work, are you certain that you need Part 107 Certification? I think it is a good idea, but unless you are flying for commercial purposes you might not need it to teach a course.

If this is for educational course work, are you certain that you need Part 107 Certification? I think it is a good idea, but unless you are flying for commercial purposes you might not need it to teach a course.
Unfortunately the regulation is not just for commercial use, it is for any non-recreational use, including educational use if you are a paid educator. See their letter on the subject here: https://www.faa.gov/uas/resources/u...dia/interpretation-educational-use-of-uas.pdf

Hello to the Phantom Forum from Athens, OH. I have been flying for a couple of weeks with my Phantom 3 Standard and am really enjoying it. So far I have mostly been concentrating on safety and flight control but will be turning my attention more to camera settings to optimize image and video quality soon.

I am a photography professor at Ohio University and l at some point I will have to go through the process of getting my 107 certificate to keep everything legal so I can incorporate using drones for stills and video into the courses.

First rough video from my second flight over the hills of Southeast Ohio: