Height from where?

Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
86
Reaction score
17
Age
41
Look at my beautiful drawing.
The pilot is standing 50 meters above sea level at the bottom of a mountain that's 500 meters height.
The phantom is 50 meters above the mountain.
What is the real height? is it sea level to drone = 50 + 500 + 50? or is it mountain top to drone = 50? or it's pilot to drone= 500 + 50?

Another interesting question is, will phantom 2 shown in the drawing be able to get good reception or it's impossible to fly behind the mountain and the pilot should always keep it higher?

phantomheight.jpg
 
Joined
May 25, 2015
Messages
1,219
Reaction score
373
Age
80
Location
London UK
Height is always shown as above take-off point, and no, you won't be able to get reception behind the mountain.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
86
Reaction score
17
Age
41
If it's 500m from takeoff point, then I have no way of knowing how far am I from the ground currently below me (the top of the mountain).
We need to ask DJI to add this parameter; Distance from current ground.
 

N017RW

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
8,961
Reaction score
3,241
Location
Palm Beach Co.- FL
Everybody here is wrong!!!

If you're 50 meters above a 500 meter tall mountain and you took off from the base of the mountain... the correct answer is 550 meters.

HOWEVER, the on-board baro. altimeter is subject to error and drift so don't expect accurate repeatable results.
 
  • Like
Reactions: reboot81

43k

Joined
Jul 3, 2015
Messages
255
Reaction score
95
Location
Sweden
If it's 500m from takeoff point, then I have no way of knowing how far am I from the ground currently below me (the top of the mountain).
We need to ask DJI to add this parameter; Distance from current ground.
How would you do that? Radar? Laser?
The phantom actually CAN detect ground using "sound-radar" (ultrasonic), but it need to be pretty close to the ground, like a couple of meters, to be able to do that.
 

43k

Joined
Jul 3, 2015
Messages
255
Reaction score
95
Location
Sweden
Everybody here is wrong!!!

If you're 50 meters above a 500 meter tall mountain and you took off from the base of the mountain... the correct answer is 550 meters.

HOWEVER, the on-board baro. altimeter is subject to error and drift so don't expect accurate repeatable results.
Yes, i.e. 500m from take off point.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
86
Reaction score
17
Age
41
How would you do that? Radar? Laser?
No need for a laser. I have gps, and I need a simple map that shows the surface level above sea level. Simple. No?
 

N017RW

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
8,961
Reaction score
3,241
Location
Palm Beach Co.- FL
Please explain...

50 meters above a 500 meter high mountain???
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 25, 2015
Messages
1,219
Reaction score
373
Age
80
Location
London UK
I don't know where the 500 brigade are coming from......the drone is 550m above take off point.
The 500 figure only relates to the top of the mountain.
 
  • Like
Reactions: N017RW

N017RW

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
8,961
Reaction score
3,241
Location
Palm Beach Co.- FL
I don't know where the 500 brigade are coming from......the drone is 550m above take off point.
The 500 figure only relates to the top of the mountain.

Roger that!

That's why I added the qualifier regarding the take-off point... the OP was unclear IMO.
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
13,954
Reaction score
7,975
If it's 500m from takeoff point, then I have no way of knowing how far am I from the ground currently below me (the top of the mountain).
We need to ask DJI to add this parameter; Distance from current ground.
No need for a laser. I have gps, and I need a simple map that shows the surface level above sea level. Simple. No?
Forget your ideas about sea level.
The Phantom manages perfectly well without knowing what sea level is.
Every other Phantom owner manages too.
GPS is very inaccurate for altitude so it won't be much use anyway.
Because GPS is so bad for altitude, DJI don't even get altitude data from the GPS.
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
13,954
Reaction score
7,975
Your Phantom gets its altitude from its take off spot.
Home = zero
It uses a barometer to tell how high it is above or below the home point.
 

N017RW

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 2, 2014
Messages
8,961
Reaction score
3,241
Location
Palm Beach Co.- FL
Where Dji gets the altitude from?
A barometer in side the MC measures air pressure. At take-off it equates the current pressure to ZERO feet/meters altitude.

Any changes in pressure up or down are displayed as altitude... so yes it is possible to read negative altitude if you fly below your take-off point.
 
Phantom Drones from EALLRC.com

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,419
Messages
1,410,819
Members
99,218
Latest member
dj12bk