Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Haven't flown for over a year

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Bumper60651, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. Bumper60651

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    My drones have sat in their cases for over a year and I'm taking one with me on a desert trip this week. I charged the batteries, updated the firmware and had to link my RC with the aircraft. Is there anything I'm missing? I took it for a little check out flight and it seemed like it wasn't holding its position very well. There was a breeze but I've flown in windier conditions before. I'm a little rusty so any advice you might have would be helpful. I hope to use the follow me mode while four wheeling in the desert. I've watched a couple tutorials and I think I can get it to do what its supposed to do.
     
  2. GaryDZ

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Shelton,CT USA
    You are fortunate that your RC battery came back to life.
    Happy Flying!
     
    MotorCycle-Man likes this.
  3. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8,506
    Likes Received:
    2,874
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    You need to check flight batteries.
    Did you get new ones?
    Did you maintain 50% charge during storage?
    If not stored at near half charge and after sitting unused for a year they have likely lost capacity. They will charge up fully but flight time will be reduced.
     
  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6,942
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Before taking your trip, just go to a nearby open field and check if all is working well. Wait for Home point set up and calibrate compass and then fly. If all ok, take it to your trip.
     
  5. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8,506
    Likes Received:
    2,874
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    No need to calibrate compass. Not affected by storage.
     
  6. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6,942
    Likes Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Technically yes, he need not calibrate but you never know in what conditions the drone was stored and it takes just two minutes to do it again.
     
  7. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    8,506
    Likes Received:
    2,874
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    No need to recal.
     
  8. MotorCycle-Man

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    492
    Location:
    Kansas
    ____________Bottom line : "Keep it in Beginners mode".....for a few flights around the field....Then when you feel like your All ready for much more speed and altitude ! Shut down that mode and take that quad UP and enjoy !
     
    Windwalker7 likes this.
  9. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    3,866
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    Location:
    Western US
    Since you chose to update FW, I hope that you are aware of the significant flight distance restrictions with the latest FW that need to be removed. Click here to read about it, get some of the background, and how to remove the restrictions.
     
    alokbhargava and MotorCycle-Man like this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - Haven't flown Forum Date
Ho humm- haven't flown my P3A in 2 years General Discussion Jul 21, 2018
Haven't flown my P3S in 6 months, anything I need to worry about? General Discussion Sep 3, 2017
Haven't flown since April Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Aug 12, 2017
I haven't flown my P4 in over 3 months Phantom 4 Discussion Jul 5, 2017
Haven't flown in a bit...nothing but problems. Pro/Adv Discussion Apr 3, 2016