Has anyone tried those ND2 to ND400 adjustable Camera Filters

I have a couple filters my dad got from that one major company.. I forget the name. Quality glass lenses tho. Meant for a different application but with some modifications they were able to be fitted onto our V2+ birds. I noticed a difference. I would say that they help for sure.

That said - I'm new to cameras outside of taking awesome photos with my iPhone or Note 4. I'm sure those filters help and choosing the right filter for your flight is a bit of a learning curve.

If you can learn it I'm sure you can apply it. I'm slowly learning post edits on my macbook and after I master that a bit I'm moving onto filters to help with all that. I see it as a learning hobby to keep my mind moving. No rush to learn it all in a year :)

The phantom has a fixed aperture so ND filters are the most reasonable way to deal with bright light without using a very high shutter speed.

A high shutter speed makes the video look unrealistic. Movies uses a slower shutter speed to introduce a slight motion blur.

For pictures, a graduated ND filter can balance the light in the sky with the light on the ground. A non graduated filter is not as important with still images because fast shutter speeds are not a problem.

With a regular camera you would want an ND filter to control your aperture in bright light (to get a shallow depth of field for example.). Since the Phantom has a fixed 2.8 aperture, this is not necessary.

I've been wanting to try ND filters and have a set from PolarPro, but I can't get the original clear DJI lens cover off - it's too tight to take off by hand. Any suggestions?

From what I've read starting with an ND of 8 and even going up to 16 helps a lot. Here's a video (not mine) on the subject: