Hard right turn

Reaction score
About our fifth flight, my wife at the sticks...in GPS...everything looking normal...she took off hard and the PV immediately took off leaning hard to the right, headed right for the treeline. She made an executive decision to climb to miss the trees, and it disappeared headed toward Georgia. By this time I'm panicked, but my wife has the right joystick held down hard left. In a minute or two it slowly came back to us and she got it 'landed'.
Two questions ...
When I turned off everything and restarted it all, the problem disappeared. Could the problem have been that the joystick was off neutral when I powered it up, and it initialized incorrectly?
If I had switched off controller power as it was crossing the Savannah River....would it have tried to return home?
Third question ...
I didn't power off because the treeline was around 75ft tall. Is there any way to change the RTH altitude?

I'm new to the Phantom and would appreciate any ideas you've got?

Khakis1999 said:
Id never let the wife or anyone fly my phantom period. You can buy a x1 when you fly she can fly that its 40 bucks on amazon and a ton of fun to fly.

That's too bad.
It was my wife who convinced me to buy a Phantom!
Of course she won't let me fly most of her planes, says I'm not that great of a pilot.
I have to remind her she was my instructor...lol.
She is a former Pylon Racer and is responsible for getting me into the hobby.

Khakis1999 said:
Id never let the wife or anyone fly my phantom period. You can buy a x1 when you fly she can fly that its 40 bucks on amazon and a ton of fun to fly.

Based on the simple fact that Quads in general are extremely simple to fly...

My dad has never flown before flying my models, he has flown a a few of my heli's (flybarless wth gps autopilot) and planes here and there...
I completely expect to let him fly the Phantom vision when it gets here Saturday...