Had my first sUAS "Ramp Check" today . . . sort of

BigAl07

Administrator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Reaction score
Let me preface by saying I've been flying R/C aircraft for 4 decades now. I've been a manned aircraft pilot for almost 2 decades and I hold every license/certification available for sUAS/Drones in the US and North Carolina to do this commercially including Section 333 and Part 107. I've had a sUAS company for a few years now doing Aerial Imaging for builders, architects, Realtors, and even flown for The Travel Channel shooting for Andrew Zimmern earlier this year.

I got a phone call today from an area code that I recognized from my state (NC) but not local. It was from much East of here but I had just gotten off the phone with the American Red Cross and it was from the same area code so I assumed it was them again. I answered and on the other end was a gentleman stating he was from the FAA and their had been a complaint recorded that I was flying sUAS commercially without the correct credentials to do so.

I explained to him that I did have the credentials (and more), my sUAS was registered with an N# and $1M in insurance (which has nothing to do with the FAA LOL). I also told him I found it curious that someone had turned me in for NOT having credentials. He told me that once there is a complaint filed they are required to follow up and determine what additional actions need to be taken. He couldn't/wouldn't tell me any more than that. He asked for me to confirm my full name and when I did he then read me back my mailing address and asked if he had the correct "Pilot's License #" which he read off to me (I didn't give him that). He said that my Section 333 was still valid and my Part 107 was pending (which it is LOL). He then stated that apparently the person reporting my actions was incorrect and he thanked me for my time and cooperation and said this was a closed case.