GPS Problem??? :(

Reaction score
GPS Problem? Went outside to try to fly around my house, but I could not get the bird to flash green. My iPhone had the GPS signal either greyed out or it went up to a max of six and then went back to grey. Does it just show grey when you have less than six or is something wrong with my new bird? We have lots of big trees all around the property, but my portable gps in my car can usually pick up signals. When I went to the ground station part of the app it was only showing 3 signals and briefly 4 signals. I guess I will never be able to fly at my house?

I'm far from an expert here but usually when I have trouble acquiring sats I move the phantom around to different take off points. I have gone from 5 to 7 sats just moving 10 to 15 feet away. This doesn't work every where but in most places I have had success. Also I try to find the most open area where ever I am trying to fly from.

Your tall trees and your house itself will block satellites. Many of the satellites can be low towards the horizon. You need wide open spaces, much safer too if you are new to this.

Sent from Samsung S4 via Tapatalk

At different times of day there are a different amount of satellites available, depending on atmospheric conditions so at another time you could get gps lock easily. If your house is not very open then it will always be difficult to get gps lock as you do need to see a bit of the horizon to get multiple sats.
Also remember if you do launch without 6+ sats this means you have no home lock so you would need to do this manually and it will be in atti mode which means the quad will drift in the wind but hold its height position, be very careful in this mode if objects are nearby. You will find as soon as you get some height more sats come into view.
After reading your post again i see you mention tall trees all around the property, this may never be a good area to fly.