Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional GPS needed on phone

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by the rock, Oct 23, 2015.

  1. the rock

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Middletown Ohio
    Does the phone/tablet have to have built in GPS in order to function properly,I was going to order the ACer 10" tabletand noticed it doesnt have GPS should I go smaller screen like the Nexus 7 that has GPS built in thanks the Rock
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    10,133
    Likes Received:
    4,960
    GPS is only needed for resetting the home point to the controller location or for follow me. You can fly perfectly without.
     
  3. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Virginia
    Gps also helps loading the maps so it knows your location. Fully suggest getting one with GPS .
     
  4. denodan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    You don't need a phone or tablet with gps. You can get the dual blutooth gps addon, much more accurate than any built in gps.

    Also you don't need gps to loaf maps. They load through a wifi connection which you can chache before you fly, or use a cell phone and tether your cellphone. Gps has nothing to do with loading maps. It only marks your postion on the map.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - GPS needed phone Forum Date
Garmin GLO GPS advice needed General Discussion Oct 14, 2016
GPS needed at TX? new to "3" pro Pro/Adv Discussion Feb 10, 2016
wanted phantom 2 vision gps module needed Classifieds Jan 4, 2016
Gps needed??? Phantom 1 Help Jul 10, 2015
Randomly looses GPS lock. Help needed! Phantom 2 Vision + Help Mar 21, 2015