Gimbal Rolls Left and Right

Reaction score
I just got my P3A back from DJI for stress crack repairs. They replaced the whole bird, which I wasn't expecting. I did a cold IMU and gimbal calibration and compass calibration before the first flight. This is a clip from my second flight with the new bird. The gimbal rolls left and right like it's on a boat. During this flight I tried adjusting the gimbal roll manually, but it wouldn't stay put. During this short clip it was in RTH mode and I was not inputting any commands with the RC. Has anyone ever seen this or had this happen to them? Any suggestions would be much appreciated...I really don't want to send it back to DJI for another 2 weeks.

Looks like your gimbal is in "FPV mode". By default I think the switch on the back, under your right stick toggles between FPV and follow mode

Reactions: Double_DoubleG
No, it's not...if it was, the horizon would stay straight and there would be an abrupt movement left or right when yawing. During the time this clip was recorded, it was in RTH mode and I was not touching the sticks at all.

Maybe this screw (red circle) is loose:
2016-08-06 14.29.12.jpg

There are many thread about it.

@Dronason I checked that screw and it wasn't loose. I did another IMU and gimbal calibration and the problem doesn't seem as bad, but it's still there and annoying. I noticed during the flight that my previous manual adjustments to the gimbal roll were still in place...I thought those got reset when the AC gets powered down. Maybe the manual adjustment setting affected the gimbal calibration? I'm going to do another IMU and gimbal calibration with the manual adjustments set back to zero and see if that helps.

Just some ideas (sounds as last chance for my expertise level):
- Gimbal is really free of movement when it is powered down ?
- Gimbal is really clean of any dust or part ?
- All flat cable connectors are fully engaged ?