Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal motor Failure

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by Patrik_kalix, Jul 10, 2015.

  1. Patrik_kalix

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalix, Sweden

    Gimbal works half the way, if I dont go lower that 45 or max up it works, cant find any solution.
     
  2. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    424
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    does it work if you use the up/down on the app ?
     
  3. Monkeyleg

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    27
    I have that same problem with a gimbal I'm working on. If I replace the circuit board in the main gimbal housing (the top board), everything works fine. So the problem is in that board. I'm thinking about removing the set screw and turning the camera up about 45 degrees and using a different type of set screw to hold it in place. I think that would work. For some reason, the top circuit board "thinks" that 45 degrees down is level.
     
  4. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,762
    Likes Received:
    265
    Monkeyleg,
    not necessary the main board. i've seen that the one of the three transistors on the PCB on the tilt motor went bad and that's what it looks like
    in this case looking at the video.
     
  5. Monkeyleg

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    27
    Interesting. When I swapped out the main board with a known good one, the problem went away.
     
  6. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,762
    Likes Received:
    265
    not saying that wasn't the case in your situation, just going off what i see in the video. i've seen this many times and it was always the transistors on the PCB
     
  7. Patrik_kalix

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kalix, Sweden
    Sorry not so good at technical english, PCB ? I can guess but if you have a picture of it so I know what to do, any link to parts that I could need ?
     
  8. Monkeyleg

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    27
    PCB=Printed Circuit Board.

    Hunch, are you able to replace transistors on a PCB, or do you just replace the whole board?
     
    Patrik_kalix likes this.
  9. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,762
    Likes Received:
    265
    Monkeyleg,
    no i just replace the motor. i tried to replace the transistor couple times successfully but it's too much of a pain. much easier and faster just to replace the motor.
     
  10. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,762
    Likes Received:
    265
    image.jpg
    image.jpg
    Patrik,
    This.
     
    Patrik_kalix likes this.
  11. Monkeyleg

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    27
    So "PCB" is not "printed circuit board"? Do I feel like a *******.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Gimbal motor Failure Forum Date
p2v+ gimbal motor drivers replace with p3standard? Phantom 2 Vision + Mods Yesterday at 3:39 AM
Where can I purchase the P3 Standard gimbal without the camera? Just the mount and motors General Discussion Aug 9, 2017
Standard Can a bad roll motor cause gimbal to malfunction? Phantom 3 Help Jul 27, 2017
Standard Gimbal roll motor seperation repair? Phantom 3 Help Jul 21, 2017
P4P+ Gimbal motor overloaded Phantom 4 Pro Help Jun 29, 2017