Gimbal guards

Reaction score
I'm looking to buy a gimbal guard for my P3P and I was going go with the UAV Bits gimbal guard but my friend showed me this one. Anybody has any info on this one in the pic???

ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1448662098.434609.jpg

They look like they are the same thing - a CF brace to strengthen the legs and protect the camera and gimbal. I have the one from UAV bits, but I'd save myself $10 and go for the Amazon one if I were buying again.

Reactions: Mark Bailey
I have a similar gimbal guard and the same lens cap. I personally don't like the glare cap but it would provide some protection to the lens. I believe the added protection of the gimble guard to the expensive camera and gimble system is far greater than any minimal drag it may cause.

Reactions: GoodnNuff
I have the same "kit". As discussed here before I don't believe the gimbal guard is necessary. It could cause your bird to "high Center" and tip on landing. If your bird crashes from any altitude that guard isn't going to do much to protect your camera from getting ripped from its mount. Also the sun shield for the camera lens is a little sketchy- once mounted it's difficult to remove without stressing the camera, at least it was on mine. The camera lens cap is waaaay more difficult to install than the original. Thumbs down on all three items. If you do buy I think you will use the items once and then they will be in the dust collecting pile. Save your moola and buy an extra battery!!

I don't ever plan on having a hard landing, but having owned Phantoms since their introduction, I have broken the landing gear on both my P1 and P2 when landing hard. It doesn't take much to snap those spindly legs. If you trash the camera or break the gimbal it is a $600 fix. For me the cost of this was well worth the protection it offers.
I've also installed a device similar to this one to protect that fragile ribbon cable in case of a crash: