Getting started

Reaction score
Hello ... I am a pro videographer and very interested in getting started with the DJI Phantom. I have questions since I am trying to make up my mind on which unit.

I do a lot of work at a local lake here in SoCal. I like the gimbal idea for stability. But I also like what I see in the DJI Phantom 2 vision.

I have two GoPro Hero 2 cameras. If I go to the first generation Phantom I guess I will have to move up to the Hero 3. No problem there but again, I have mixed feelings. I am trying to determine if I should go with a mounted gimbal on one of these QuadCopters or just go with the Phantom 2 Vision. I like the idea of being able to control the camera (mainly up and down) but I cannot do that with a Hero mounted in a gimbal. Correct?

Also (and I hesitate to ask this) what happens if the Phantom goes into the water. Is it a complete loss?

Thanks so much. Would appreciate any advice.

Danny

The Hero 2 should be fine to use on a Phantom and gimbals are available that the HERO 2 fits.
Of cause the HERO 3 is lighter and a bit better in so many ways in comparison to the HERO 2.Being able to record 1080p at 50/60 fps is the biggest advantage the HERO 3 has over the HERO 2 in this situation.

You can control the pitch angle,move it up & down,with most any gimbal out there.It's a matter of connecting the gimbal to the Naza box inside the Phantom and if you want to move it during flight you will need to buy a lever to fit into the pot on the back of the TX to adjust the angle.

Is the lake you mention fresh or salt water?
There have been a number of reports from people that have crashed into fresh water and after recovery and drying the Phantom can survive to fly again.
Salt water is a different story.Crash into salt water and the Phantom will surely fry.I speak from personal experience.
I had to replace one motor and most of the electronics,all but the Naza unit.And that was from just dipping one arm into the water not complete submersion.