Getting great results with Adobe After Effects, but the files are HUGE

Reaction score
I'm really digging AE, but the files it's producing from 5min video clips are around 200Gb. Are my settings wrong, or is this just the nature of the program? Thank you in advance.
P.S. The finished files play normally, and look amazing.

This definitely doesn't sound right. I wouldn't expect an hour long video to get close to 200 gigs, let alone a 5 minute one.

It be awesome if you could tell us what the source files are shot on, the resolution, the bit rate, the codec. “My files are huge” means nothing.

Reactions: Ripper7620
It be awesome if you could tell us what the source files are shot on, the resolution, the bit rate, the codec. “My files are huge” means nothing.
Thank you for the reply, I'm shooting @4K, 4096X2160, and am using a bit rate of 16 in AE. Normally I've been using the Normal setting, but have just started to experiment with D-log. I'm a complete novice, so there's likely an abundance of user error on my part.

IMG_6040.jpg

So 5 mins is around 900MB using

H.264 (AVC codec)
100Mbs data rate
And assuming 30 frames per second

Your gamma curve (d-log) is irrelevant for the math on space needed.

So I think you probably have a timeline that is higher bit depth or when you saved it out you used a codec that uses less compression.

All things being equal (resolution, frame rate, bit depth and data rate) then the only variable to file size is what codec is used when saving after rendering.

Thank you for the reply, I'm shooting @4K, 4096X2160, and am using a bit rate of 16 in AE. Normally I've been using the Normal setting, but have just started to experiment with D-log. I'm a complete novice, so there's likely an abundance of user error on my part.