Getting a P2 next week, I have a couple questions

Reaction score
I am brand new to this hobby. I have planned on getting into this for a few years and now here I am.
I am getting a bare bones P2 next week and am confused on a few points after watching some videos.
1. Return to Home. I watched videos of P2's zooming away out of control and getting lost. When signal was lost why did the drone not return?
2. I actually WANT to start out flying manual and not in FPV if my terminology is correct. What is the realistic range that I can be safe in with a standard setup? After seeing the runaway drone vids I don't want my first one going byebye.
3. After I get the manual skills imbedded in my brain I want to move up to FPV. Total loss how this works, but it does seem to favor GoPro. I have a Drift Ghost HD I motovlog with, can I use this camera?

Hi Mike,

1: Perhaps they had taken off before it had set its home point or flown it too far away and lost all orientation and made things worse.
2: I think you mean LOS (line of sight) flying (manually) - this can be done in GPS, ATTI and full manual mode ... practice with GPS mode first then when comfortable try ATTI mode... BEFORE entering full manual mode, i think theyre a bit arse-heavy for manual fun but they can still be flown in full manual, i used to stunt my Phantom 1 in full manual, the Phantom 2 is much heavier tho.
3: FPV is when its transmitting what the onboard cam is seeing to a monitor or goggles (i use goggles and a GoPro on a P2 with H3-3D gimbal), not sure on your cam tho, on the GoPro you can get the video from the USB charging port or the larger rear port. Your problem will be attaching it to a suitable gimbal, there are various types so you need to look if they support your camera, failing that as long as its strapped to a gimbal well and can transmit the video via your cam to an onboard video transmitter (you will need to add) you should receive it ok on a monitor/goggles.

Hope that helps :)

Last edited: