Get rid of the props in your Gopro Footage.

Reaction score
I am pretty new to the world of Gopro and mine is the Hero 3+ Black Edition.

I am carrying out flight tests to decide which camera settings look the best to me so that I can pick my favourites and be ready for the summer. I edit using Final Cut Pro X.

I like to shoot my video with the Gopro camera facing up in its highest setting as this minimises the fisheye effect. The trouble with this is you often see the props in the frame.

Damm those Props !!!

You may have heard people talking about shooting in 2.7K and then cropping the video. Here are some examples of this. The first video shows the view as it came out of the camera.

Note the max resolution in the forum player is 720p. To watch in 1080p open them in Youtube.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NIuulfXEc4s[/youtube]

The second clip has zoomed and the frame repositioned within FCPX to eliminate the props. It has also been stabilised using FCPX default stabilisation. The Y value refers to the Y-axis value which moves the frame upwards. There is a sweet spot which minimises the amount you have to zoom the image and those 2 values are shown.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FieaPUOYl9o[/youtube]

I like that ultra wide screen look that is becoming popular on the web and so the final example has additional cropping applied to make it look more widescreen.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdTMCU4hWUQ[/youtube]

The video was shot in 2.7K wide field of view with Protune turned on. Protune gives you a very flat rather fuzzy image which needs further work in your editor. I currently like 2 plugging for FCPX from a company called Crumplepop. They make a fisheye removal tool and an HDR editor for Gopro which can really bring out the detail in your video. The effects are fully customisable. In the examples above on the HDR effect has been applied. The fisheye was not needed as the camera is in the optimum position.