Future owner -Looking for advice

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm about to order my P2V and wanted to check in to see if you could pass along any advice for newbies? I have some experience in quadcopters, specifically with the AR Drone 2.0

Pretty scary what I have read regarding fly aways and such. Do you recommend a GPS tracking device? if so do you have a specific device you can recommend? Should I buy a case?

Anything helps at this point!

amrflyingdude said:
Hello everyone,

I'm about to order my P2V and wanted to check in to see if you could pass along any advice for newbies? I have some experience in quadcopters, specifically with the AR Drone 2.0

Pretty scary what I have read regarding fly aways and such. Do you recommend a GPS tracking device? if so do you have a specific device you can recommend? Should I buy a case?

I came from flying the Parrot AR Drone 2.0 and I must say the Phantom 2 Vision has been a MUCH better flying experience. SO Much easier to control and SO much more reliable to fly.. I swear I have spent more time repairing my AR Drones than flying them, and thus far I've been on over half a dozen long range or high altitude flights with the Vision and have not had a single glitch or crash thus far (knock on wood).

Though given the "fly away" concerns, which I honestly believe to be the exception than the rule, to be on the "safe" side it may be a good idea using a cellular capable GPS tracker. Though the cell tracking services can be a bit pricey.

Make sure before you fly for the first time to make sure firmware on the Phantom and Controller are up to date. And you properly calibrate the compass in an open field clear of wires or other metals before your first flight. This wont need to be done again unless you relocate to a different part of the globe.