FPV setup interfering with RC

Reaction score
I am new to the drone world and like many others have my own trials and tribulations. Recently bought an FPV setup and applied it to my Phantom 1.1.1. It is an LT 200 200 mw 5.8GHz audio/video 32 channel 5 volt output transmitter with 700TLV FPV camera. Cables came with the kit. I mounted the transmitter under the drone below the blinking indicator light on the phantom and mounted the camera on the camera mount. Using Boscam monitor/receiver. Power to the transmitter is from the balance port on the Phantom 11.1 v battery. So easy set up, checked the set up before attaching it to the drone worked perfectly clear picture(channel E3 was the most clear).

So I attach it and rigged it, go outside with props off and turn it all on. Picture great but the phantom starts blinking yellow light. Based on my reading means no connection between the phantom and RC. Changed the batteries to the RC(no indicator of low battery) no change. Still blinking yellow. I had flown the phantom before making these changes over 30 times without a problem.

I read and look and wonder if the phantom’s antennae are getting interference from the transmitter even though they are supposed to be on different wavelengths and move the transmitter away from the compass and two antennae. This does allow me to cycle the drone so I get GPS lock and can fly. It looks like that was the problem! So I put the props on and go for a fly in a big open field. Starts up, run through the sat lock, camera and receiver are doing well. Get about 50 feet from the RC and it looses signal and goes into return home mode. Comes closer, I get control back by flipping ATTI switch and try again with the same outcome. By the way the FPV setup worked great. After many flights before the modification I never had any problems like this. I did disconnect the FPV rig and everything works normally.