FPV Newb - Suggestions?

Reaction score
I'm actually new to the drone world in general, was initially thinking about getting the PV2 or PV2+ but after a little more research I think I want to go the gopro route with either the P1 or P2, which ever I can get a better deal on. The problem i'm having is I really want to see what I'm shooting (using primary for photography) and have heard the gopro wifi does not mix well with the phantoms controller systems. I've seen some people list a number of things they need for their FPV setup but am at a loss as to what any of this stuff is. I also know there are more easy out of box setups like the one by Kumbacam but from what I've read there are better cheaper alternatives. Any help with direction on this would be awesome! Thanks in advance.

wesbob said:
Thanks for the link to that post, it was informative. I feel like im even more confused now. With the exception of better distance, is there any reason (except distance) I should go with the recommended setup with the black pearl,TS352 over this option which is easily $100 less? http://www.amazon.com/DJI-Phantom-Hero- ... ds=FPV+DJI?
I can list a number of reasons. Whether they matter to you or not is not my decision.

500 feet is terrible FPV range. That monitor (well, receiver) only takes one antenna. Monitors like the Black Pearl (among others) have diversity receivers built in, meaning you can have 2 types of antennas and it will automatically choose the one with the stronger signal.

Also, I prefer not to have to power the video transmitter with its own battery. That's just more weight on the Phantom that I don't want.

Plug and Play cable: $10
TS353 (Video Transmitter): $38
RX-LCD5802 (Monitor/Receiver): $140 (+ $6 for the charger)
iOSD Mini (telemetry): $68
Monitor mount: $10 (or $30 if you want a nice one like the Rave Aerial Mount)

$272...much cheaper than that Kumba kit and better. Use the money you save and upgrade the antennas.