FPV Camera versus Litchi?

Reaction score
The wife bought me a Phantom 4 for my 68th birthday ... o_O

I'll be using it on my iPad Air 2...

Being a real life pilot, I'm into advanced flight planning before I actually get into the air. I see there are basically two decent apps regularly talked about here, but I wanted to get some feedback as to the pros and cons of each, before I pick one to exclusively learn and use with my Phantom 4.

Any feedback would be welcome .. :)

Regards,
Doug

It would be a good idea to learn how to use DJI GO first. You'll need to use it either way since none of the third party apps allow you to setup all of the settings and/or do the calibrations.

Okay, to start, cool wife!

Litchi works different to most other apps in that it is capable of autonomous flight, what this means is that you can plan a mission using Litchi where as your phantom 4 will fly on its own it doesn't matter if your RC loses connection, the phantom
will carry on with its mission where as most other apps will exploit the "RTH" (return to home) feature on radio loss. This means Litchi can fly out of radio reach, whilst recording, and get your phantom to places that would otherwise be impossible using your radio, the phantom will still record video on board even after radio loss that you can then view up on return. I think being a pilot you would really appreciate and enjoy Litchi, also Litchi does not have a steep learning curve it is feature rich but it is has a very intuitive design and you will get to grips with it very quickly. For the price Litchi is a no brainer think of it as a cheap accessory.
Feel free to ask me any questions you have, but clearly I am an advocate for Litchi because of its UNIQUE feature.