Follow me won't work

Reaction score
I'm new with this unit. I have an IPad Air. When I get the phantom 3 professional in the air about 30 feet I am in P mode. My lights are green, the GPS signal strength has full bars or usually a reading of 13 or more. When I switch to follow me and hit apply for the F mode a warning sign says signal strength is poor but all GPS indications still say I have excellent strength. What am I doing wrong as I have never been able to make this mode work. I have also tried my IPhone with the same results. Thanks for any help

I'm new with this unit. I have an IPad Air. When I get the phantom 3 professional in the air about 30 feet I am in P mode. My lights are green, the GPS signal strength has full bars or usually a reading of 13 or more. When I switch to follow me and hit apply for the F mode a warning sign says signal strength is poor but all GPS indications still say I have excellent strength. What am I doing wrong as I have never been able to make this mode work. I have also tried my IPhone with the same results. Thanks for any help
Is your Air a wifi only version? If so, it doesnt have GPS so the Phantom has nothing to follow.

During Follow Me, the Phantom follows the GPS location of the mobile device attached to your remote controller (RC). If you do not have GPS at the location of your RC, then you can't use Follow Me with the DJI GO app. There are alternatives to the GO app. They are not as accurate as using GPS, but they might work well enough for your needs.

The iPhone does have GPS, so it should work with the GO app if its new enough.

Last edited:
Reactions: JoBe and Vzr1
Why wouldn't my google maps be adequate as it is a GPS. When we test this here at the house both phone and pad have internet service and it still doesn't work

Where is the active track as where we typically go there is no cell service as it is far from any tower