flying without 4g Lte on device. What happens?

Reaction score
Does anyone know what happens when you try to fly with a device that does not have a sim card in it? Only wi-fi enabled in a no wi-fi zone?

It will work ok except you won't get the map freshened.

I am new to this and was wondering the same thing as I search for a tablet to use instead of my cell phone. Do I understand correctly that you also would not be able to use the Follow Me feature if you have a device that does not have a cell connection, since I believe you need to have a cell data connection to get GPS functionality?

Follow me works as long as the device has a standalone GPS.

I am new to this and was wondering the same thing as I search for a tablet to use instead of my cell phone. Do I understand correctly that you also would not be able to use the Follow Me feature if you have a device that does not have a cell connection, since I believe you need to have a cell data connection to get GPS functionality?

Yes, and just to make it clear, this is for Apple products, you don't need the cellular function activated (ie, no SIM) to use the GPS. It is just that iPads don't come with GPS unless they are cellular capable. Android tablets often (? always) do.

Ok, I am mainly looking into Android devices, I am not against Apple but I have not been in the Apple eco-system for quite some time.

I have a Galaxy tab 4 that is cell capable. I don't have a sim card for it yet. Will it still work?

IOS (Apple) devices have GPS only if they include cellular, while all modern Android tablets include GPS whether or not they have cellular. If I've forgotten to cache maps in advance, I turn on the wifi hotspot feature in my phone so my wifi-only tablet can load the maps using the phone's data connection.