Flying near a military base?

Reaction score
I'm not sure if this has been discussed before but I'll give it a go. There is an event next weekend at a recreation center that I want to film/video. I already have permission by the event coordinator and staff of the event. There will be lots of people and 4 live bands. The issue is this, the event is taking place on the very outside edge of a NFZ (military base). The surrounding area has 140' trees and I would keep it below the tree tops. More than likely 120' and below. And of course I wouldn't fly it over people. I live near the event location and know the layout well so I have several ways and places I can shoot from without putting a hazard in play. Ultimately my question is this, would I still need to file a flight plan? If so, with whom? Because I honestly do not know if the FAA guidelines are the same for military airbases as they are for civilian commercial airports. I do not have a part 107, although I am studying for it. I'm not filming this for any other persons other than myself. (not profiting from this) Any help would greatly be appreciated. I just want to keep everything legit. I'm one of those crabby old guys who shakes my head when I see idiots with drones doing stuff they shouldn't be doing.

This may depend on which "base" you are speaking of. Yes, the FAA, being a government agency, and within the confines of the US, have authority in that airspace. But, you have to remember that "military" airspace, is a bit different, and can get quite "obscure" in the manner the FAA works with any given area. That said, personally, if it were that important to you, I would contact someone at the base, either in ATC or, in another area, and state your purposes.

Thank you> The base is part of Joint Base Lewis Mc Chord (JBLM) in Tacoma WA

I agree with F-Dawg and would add that it depends on the local authorities definition of 'near'. Hobbyists are not to fly over or near government facilities.