Flying in/near Richmond VA

Reaction score
I'm somewhat new to the hobby with a P3P! I live in Brandermill and would like some advice about where to fly near me.
Can anyone please help and suggest where some good places to fly can be found?
Are state and county parks out?

Unless something has changed very recently, both Chesterfield and Virginia state parks are fine. I have attracted attention from park staff at state parks that did not seem particularly thrilled by my activities, but they were friendly and there were no problems.
Additionally, Chesterfield school property is generally not a problem while school is out.
If you have not already done so, check the online "do not fly here map". There is a fairly substantial restricted area around RIC and take care anywhere near Ft. Lee or the Defense Supply Center or any other military related facilities. If you fly anywhere near the county airport I would caution you that I often see small planes and military choppers flying much lower than you would expect even several miles out.
Unless you have an aversion to flying over water, I would think that the Swift Creek Reservoir would appeal to you.

Reactions: Voxx
Agree. The schools are prefect for another couple of weeks. I've flown at Harry Daniel Park, near the airport, and stay pretty low (under 100'). Not my favorite place to fly, though.

Great tip on the "do not fly here" map. Will check that out.

Evidently I was wrong about VA state parks. While flying at Pocahontas State Park this afternoon I was approached by 2 park police officers. To keep the story short, I was asked to stop and provided with a copy of the Virginia Administrative Code that reads as follows:

4VAC5-30-400. Aviation