Flying as Hobbyist after getting Part 107 certificate

Reaction score
Hi,

I am studying to get my Part 107 certificate for commercial operations.

Will I still be able to fly under Hobbyist rules when not receiving compensation? I would think that the answer would be yes.

Bob

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Absolutely you can. But keep in mind that IF you were to have some type of aerial "incident" that ends up with enforcement/penalties of some kind while flying as a hobbyist (not likely to ever happen) it would potentially impact your "Commercial" endorsement.

Very much like if you have CDL for driving an 18-wheeler and you get caught for DUI/DWI while in your family sedan you lose your CDL's. One can affect the other but you can fly as a hobbyist even after you've jumped through the hoops for Part 107.

Reactions: V tail and cfd701
Great way to put it Allen. Thanks for that. One other thing I am wondering. On our UAS, are we going to have to have both a hobby registration number and commercial? It was fuzzing on the website since it only talks about using it for one or the other, not both.

Great way to put it Allen. Thanks for that. One other thing I am wondering. On our UAS, are we going to have to have both a hobby registration number and commercial? It was fuzzing on the website since it only talks about using it for one or the other, not both.

No one or the other. If you fly commercially you'll register the AIRCRAFT (each aircraft will get a unique #) but as a hobbyist you the OPERATOR is registered. My commercial aircraft have N# on them while my hobby aircraft have an FAA Operator # (same on all of them). But I sometimes fly my Commercial for fun/hobby.