Fly Aways - An opinion

Reaction score
Hi All...

I am a fairly new Phantom pilot and I have read with interest (and horror) about the so called "Fly Aways" and I thought I might like to share this information with you...

I have just installed the 2.4G Datalink and Ground Station on my Phantom and as I was playing with the iPad and PC software I discovered this: With the iPad app there is an option where you can toggle the map view to show either your iPad location or the Phantom location. When I first toggled this to show my Phantom location - it was rotor-free at the time with no GPS lock - it scared the life out of me! The default home point is in China. With rotors, if I had pressed "Go" my Phantom would presumably have tried to fly home!

It is the same on the PC software. There is a config file that actually contains latitude/longitude settings for the "Home Point".... and this is set actually to China by default. I'm assuming this is also true of the NAZA firmware.

So, it could be that if a Phantom hasn't registered a Home Point before take off, and then loses connection to the transmitter, when Failsafe is engaged it simply tries to fly home to the default Home Point.... China.

So is this where all those fly-away Phantoms are making for?

:lol: Maybe that is what DJI are up to! We think a flown away/missing Phantom auto landed but instead it triggered " RTC (Return to China), switched to a super secret, mega battery saving mode and is in fact on the long journey over seas as we speak to report video back! :lol:

Seriously though I like this theory and glad you put it out there.

Personaly I don't think it will be the case but it is certainly one to add to the gazzwillion of theories on it so far. Frankly it would be totally understandable if it was the case! We already know Phantoms are pre-programmed not to fly withing 5km of Tianimun Square in China so anything is possible!