floating in circles?

Reaction score
So I'm a newbie Phantom 2 Vision pilot......took it up for the second time today, in a large soccer field with no obstructions. First flight went well...hovered perfectly....no issues. This time...everything starts out great...I eventually get it up to 250ft....life is good. I start to slowly bring it back down.....and by the time I'm 30 or 40ft off the ground, it starts flying in a large circle around me. I haven't touched the stick, but to bring it down. Prior to this, it was flying stable as can be. From reading the boards, it seems like maybe a compass miscalibration? I did calibrate the compass inside in my condo.....then flew it in a large open field. Would this cause it fly in such a circular pattern randomly? It also seemed to be off by about 40ft...as when I landed it, it said it was at 38ft altitude. Any advice is much appreciated.

Paul

You should calibrate ur compass in the field away from interference. Your condo probably wasn't the best place to calibrate.

I had a similar issue after I did a firmware update on my phantom 2. my quad was drooping to one side and would not keep stable. The problem was fixed when I plugged it into the assistant software and did and advanced calibration. I would also calibrate the control sticks just in case those are off.

Definitely don't calibrate indoors, or anywhere close to metal objects, reinforced concrete, drain covers, etc, etc. These can all give the compass a completely false impression of which way is which. You'll then get the GPS telling the flight controller one thing and the compass telling it another. Good job landing it safe and sound, next time calibrate again in the middle of the field.

I haven't updated the firmware....though it was just delivered about two weeks ago. Would it need an upgrade already?

hurler16 said:
I haven't updated the firmware....though it was just delivered about two weeks ago. Would it need an upgrade already?