Flew Away in GPS

Reaction score
Hi all
I am new in this and I had my Phantom on GPS mode and it was flying good until it just started going up and ignoring my control, I moved the left joystick all the way down and kept it there but for around a minute it just didn't respond, kept going up and then it just decided to come down.
This has happened to me two or three times already.
Any idea what is wrong?
Thanks
Mitch

Are you waiting all "warm cycle" while sattellites are locked?
That is waiting just GREEN or GREEN - GREEN flash lights before take off. That may be as long as 2-3 minutes for first flight.

I am very confused with this different colored lights, I have not yet been able to work out the red satellite lights.

Are you over an open field while warm - take off ? Satellite lock requires not obstacles as buildings or trees around.

Here a guide from manuals:

Led%20Status.jpg

Thank you very much for the info, I am over an open field while warm but there are trees near by.

By the way I added the props guards to the Phantom and now I found it harder to control it, is that normal?
Do I really need to use the supplied cord with the guards?

austcoll said:
By the way I added the props guards to the Phantom and now I found it harder to control it, is that normal?

Guards are not heavy. That shouldn't be an issue. Connect to Naza Assitant and do an Advanced Calibration. Then go to field and do Compass Calibration (360° turns firs horizontal, then nose down). Repower phantom and try. The cords are extra safe but not requiered at all.

Thank you so much, will do that.
By the way do you always have to Advanced Calibration after adding the props guards?
Do I have to switch up and down TEN times as well every time I do the 360dgree calibration as well or just the 360 and noise down?
Thank you again

austcoll said:
Thank you so much, will do that.
By the way do you always have to Advanced Calibration after adding the props guards?