First Incident with a Tree

Reaction score
Let me start by saying that I am still learning how to fly this beast, and having a good time learning. On my first few flights I noticed that I was unable to determine which direction the craft was pointing when it got a long distance away from me (one football field). At times it would look like it was flying away from me, when I wanted it to come back. Because of this I thought that IOC mode be better suited for these situations. I enabled it and went out for a test flight. First flight in IOC mode was fine. The second was much more exciting. You can see the result in the video below. The problem was the craft got behind me and I was unable to avoid some trees. I ran into a few "newbie" issues and learned a few lessons the hard way. I have since been out with the craft and on at least one occasion while in IOC mode the bird would head in the wrong direction and I have needed to take it out of IOC mode to get control. Anyone else experiencing IOC control issues?

http://youtu.be/B8ogMK0EfcM

Hi,

On my first few flights I noticed that I was unable to determine which direction the craft was pointing when it got a long distance away from me

The first thing I noticed watching your video is that you start like a professional with the quadcopter front looking towards to you. I learned flying helicopters and the 1st rule for hovering was alway to have the copter positioned so that you are looking at the tail. So the controls are more logical.

Mode 2 left stick forward=up, downward=down, left= yawn left, right= yawn right

Mode 2 right stick forward = forward, backwards=back, right = right and left = left and still now when I start I use the DUMMY position to look at the Butt or rear of my Phantom.

Perhaps that is why you got everything mixed up ? On the other side red is fron and green is left which for me means when I see RED towards me = DANGER and if I see Green towards = OK.