First Flight - Some First Photos

Reaction score
First, many thanks to all of you. Although I haven't posted much, I've read this forum for hours before even buying my drone, much less flying. Because of all this reading and information, I felt pretty confident going out for my first flight with my first DJI Phantom Vision 2+. Despite my confidence, I decided it was best to take the drone out for it's first flight someplace very remote - with nothing electronic nearby and with few trees to hit.... Manassas Battlefield outside Washington, DC was the perfect spot!

I know flying at National Parks is a no-no, so I flew just on the boundary of the park in an area with some trails. :D

For background, I am a professional photographer so the DJI Phantom isn't a toy for me - its a tool to get me photos that are usually outside my reach. So I was very interested to see how the camera would hold up compared to my $3,000 Nikon D800 (36 megapixels)....

I must say, I am pleasantly surprised. Adobe Photoshop's distortion corrections worked pretty well. There is a good amount of chromatic aberration in the lens but that's an easy fix in Photoshop as well. The DNG files gave lots of dynamic range and depth to edit and get some pretty nice results - especially since I was basically flying over open grassy fields!

The flight went very smoothly, although I did tip over and get my props in the dirt during 2 of my landings. But I'm learning!

Here's a few photos.... you can see them and my blog about this flight here: http://scenictraverse.com/blog/2014/5/25/quick-shot-aerial-manassas-battlefield

CanonBWDrone_zpsae612e2b.jpg

CanonAboveDrone_zpsd0c21c72.jpg

TreesManassasDrone_zpsdf538233.jpg

CanonlineDrone_zps092e8511.jpg

PS - sorry these are relatively low-res files- the ones in my blog look better and are much sharper! All for downsizing a file for bandwidth.
- Kristen