First Flight for new Phantom 2

Reaction score
I've been flying an indoor helicopter for several years but I'm a newbie to the Phantom. I've watched videos many times read through the user manual several times and thought I knew everything there was to do correctly. I waited for the GPS to find satellites I calibrated the compass and was all set the fly but then when I gave it for throttle there was no power for lift off. There was power if I were to go forward or back left or right but no power with the throttle all the way up. It just would not lift up off the ground.

I'm thoroughly confused.

Help!

Phantom2inVA said:
I've been flying an indoor helicopter for several years but I'm a newbie to the Phantom. I've watched videos many times read through the user manual several times and thought I knew everything there was to do correctly. I waited for the GPS to find satellites I calibrated the compass and was all set the fly but then when I gave it for throttle there was no power for lift off. There was power if I were to go forward or back left or right but no power with the throttle all the way up. It just would not lift up off the ground.

I'm thoroughly confused.

Help!

Are your props spinning at all?

Are you updated to firmware 3.0? You might be in a flight restricted zone.

No, 2.0. So many people have said that things about 3.0 so I'm not upgraded.

I'm nowhere near the airport.

I'm going to try to upload the video to YouTube see you can see it.

Phantom2inVA said:

I'm by no means an expert but as someone else who recently had his first flight, I can assure you those rotors are NOT spinning up like a normal takeoff. The first time I throttled up I was a tad surprised at the amount of wind and sound that were generated, and immediately understood why all the phantom videos people post with audio have a loud sound in the background.