Final Cut Pro X vs. Adobe Premier CC

Reaction score
Hi All,

Mostly a Mac house here with an iMac, Mac mini, rMBP, iPad, iPhone. I do run Windows 8.1 in a VM on the rMBP and a dedicated Lenovo Think Pad laptop.

The Premiere CC seems like a decent deal vs. buying the boxed CS6, to match my Photoshop suite but I would need to add the motion graphics to the subscription?

What about Final Cut Pro X? Motion 5 is another $50 as is Compressor, to save to different formats.

I currently use iMove and I hate it, not intuitive at all.

Your thoughts would be very helpfull on this.

Cheers,

Timmer

This kind of question will always trigger the same kind of answer, with pros FCPX and pros Premiere. just like mac vs pc. The guy in this video summarize pretty well the situation without passion one way or the other way, and more important, explains why.

Thank you Serge, I saw that video but was still confused.

I worked in the film industry for 10 years and the studios I worked with were all Apple. I saw what they did with films like the Green Lantern and the last Planet of the Apes.

I think I'm going to go Apple.

Cheers!

Edited to add: To get FCPX I need to go to Yosemite on my laptop. Going with Adobe, thanks again...

Last edited:
I use a PC so I don't have this choice, I use the Adobe CC suite, very happy with it, but I don't know FCPX really.

Hi All,

Mostly a Mac house here with an iMac, Mac mini, rMBP, iPad, iPhone. I do run Windows 8.1 in a VM on the rMBP and a dedicated Lenovo Think Pad laptop.

The Premiere CC seems like a decent deal vs. buying the boxed CS6, to match my Photoshop suite but I would need to add the motion graphics to the subscription?

What about Final Cut Pro X? Motion 5 is another $50 as is Compressor, to save to different formats.

I currently use iMove and I hate it, not intuitive at all.

Your thoughts would be very helpfull on this.

Cheers,

Timmer