Filters again and again

Reaction score
First of all, English is not my first language so what I'm going to write now can sounds very wrong or maybe even arrogant, please don't take it that way, I'm only writing this to help.

Ok here we go.

The last month or two this Forum have been filled with Gimbals and lens Filter talk.

I'm not going to talk about the Gimbals (whish I had one)

I'm going to talk about the filters. Again please don't get this wrong, but I think a lot of the people who want the filter and filter mount actually don't know what they are talking about. But when so many people are writing about it, they also want one :cool:

So why do I think that people don't know what they are talking about?

First of all, I have been a professional Photographer for around 20 years (and still are), so I know a little about cameras and filters.

I really cant see the idea with a filter on a flying thing, because most of the filters people are talking about are polarizers and ND (Neutral density) filters, which all are taking or blocking some light to the camera. A polarizer can easy take two whole steps (4 times less light) of light which mean you get slower shutter times to compensate (for photography)!
When the camera are hanging underneath a flying and vibrating object you want as fast shutter time you can get, or you photos will be blurry, and with this camera that already are bad quality you will not be happy with the result. Remember the Vision have a fixed aperture (f2.8) which means it can only change the shutter-time to get a correct exposure.

The ND filter is different because you can buy them the with different density but again why on earth do you want slooooooower shutter time???? Please if anybody can explain that for me.

Maybe you will say ok, that is for Photography but I'm taking Video :D