Fc40 landing

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm new to quadcopters and trying to learn as much as I can. So my question is this: After doing all the preflight requirements (warm up , satellite lock , compass calibrate ) and waiting for slow flashing green light , I will have a successful flight with no problems then while landing I will set the copter down very gently and when I chop the throtle the copter wants to skim across the ground at high throtle at about a 45 degree angle draging 2 of the prop gaurds on the ground before finally shutting down?? It doesn't do it ever flight but about 1/2 the time ? TIA John.

That is odd. Not sure what is wrong. And another welcome.

Are you pulling the left stick down and towards the center or straight down? Down and in with do as you are describing, holding stck straight down for 3 seconds will stop the motors without tipping.

After reading some post with similar problems I think it might be pilot error ? I might not have brought the throttle straight down but possibly at a slight angle causing the copter to tilt after touch down. I also read another post that said just catch it from a hover seems to work great just watch those props .

I'd agree - pilot error. I was doing the same, pulling down with both levers, which effectively tilted the craft left or right enough to make it start sliding across the ground. Only bring it down with the left lever. In the end I opted for holding it at about four feet and shutting down in my hand. But that's just my way

If the phantom is in the air at height does 3 secs of full left stick down still cut power?

no if its still flying just left stick down for 3 seconds will not cut the motors off. In less you are holding it and then it thinks its landed and touched down. Then in that case it will cut the motors with just the left stick down

lumacurve said: