Faith in Distance

Reaction score
Hello All!

I am a newbie to this community and hobby. I have a P3A and I have about 5 flights in so far. My question is how did you all have faith in the quad going the distance. I am nervous (yes I said it) flying the bird distances greater then 200 feet and higher then 300.

From your experience how did you all break that fear and what were some of the precautions you put in place (if any)

I really want to enjoy this new hobby and not be nervous. It was an expensive purchase so I want to preserve this great piece of technology

Thanks in advance for all the advice!

You won't gain confidence unless you get some experience. Every flight you'll push it more and more as your confidence grows.

But to answer your question, I came from a P2V+ where flying any distance took serious balls. For me, getting a Flytrex got me over my fear of the dreaded fly away, which previous models were notorious for. That being said, the P3 is so much more of a reliable machine. I have complete confidence in it, and have not bothered to install a tracker on it mainly because the bird is just so solid in the air, and the signal strength (compared to the V+, or anything out right now, really) is amazing. Not saying I won't put a tracker on it for added peace of mind, I've just not had any oh-**** moments with it (yet).

haha, thats a tough one, after a few months of flying i started to trust my phantom and myself. Return to home has always worked like a champ.

Thank you for the great advice. What is a Flytrex exactly? Also when flying what would be a go/ no-go when wanted to fly in wind?

watch battery levels carefully, nothing more scary than the first time it tries to go to home on low battery. was teaching my son to fly last night and remembered the dread the first time it happened to me ;)