Everyone happy with the 5.8ghz range?

Reaction score
Hi
Just wondered if everyone using their 5.8ghz fc40's are happy with range ( knowing it's less than 2.4ghz) and how much if any interference or issues near tress etc?

Reading up online I've heard users mention that 5.8ghz has some penetration problems compared to 2.4ghz !?

Any feedback from actual users would be much appreciated ... Thanks :)

In my 7 week "career" as a Phantom pilot I've used only 5.8Ghz controllers and 2.4Ghz video links: Phantom 2 Vision and FC40. I've been happy with that arrangement, but can't yet make a valid comparison to a system that uses 2.4Ghz for the controller. I've only used 2.4Ghz with small non-GPS, short-range helicopters and my brother's AR Parrot. The Phantom 2 (non-Vision) that I have on the way will have 2.4Ghz for the controller and 5.8Ghz for the video. I'll stop now before I tell you more than I know.

Bigbells said:
In my 7 week "career" as a Phantom pilot I've used only 5.8Ghz controllers and 2.4Ghz video links: Phantom 2 Vision and FC40. I've been happy with that arrangement, but can't yet make a valid comparison to a system that uses 2.4Ghz for the controller. I've only used 2.4Ghz with small non-GPS, short-range helicopters and my brother's AR Parrot. The Phantom 2 (non-Vision) that I have on the way will have 2.4Ghz for the controller and 5.8Ghz for the video. I'll stop now before I tell you more than I know.

Ok thanks. I've moved to phantom from Ar Drone . I found the Drone relatively stressful and quite difficult to control ( especially too steep angles and falls out of sky!?) .

What distances/range have you achieved with your 5.8ghz phantoms ?

Thanks

FC40 Pilot said:
Ok thanks. I've moved to phantom from Ar Drone . I found the Drone relatively stressful and quite difficult to control ( especially too steep angles and falls out of sky!?) .

Thanks