ESC Board Fix or Fried Somehow?

Reaction score
So, as a newbie I had reported that I flew my Phantom in a wide area and then the quadcopter flew out of control clipping bunch of pine trees and then a crash onto the grassy area beneath the tree. C-clamp from one of the motors was found in the motor housing. So, I believe that was the cause of the runaway.

I have upgraded with T-Motors Antigravity just as an upgrade and not merely to replace that one motor with piss poor bearings and C-clamps (some call it "e" clamps). Beautiful thing - the T-Motors!

My Phantom's right red light motor still is not rotating normally. Hesitates. Could the ESC "red" board gotten fried from the original stock motor jamming and backflow resistance created to the board?

KGrHqZ_lQFEH3hWDn_BRLIHIh3j_60_3.JPG

I would hate to purchase a new ESC red board if that's not the issue. And if it is the issue, is there a way to correct/fix it? Programmable? I have no clue how to use the NAZA PC tool.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Swap the motor with one of the other three. If it works fine, you have a bad motor. If it still hesitates, you have a bad ESC. Replace it -- don't take a chance trying to fix it; they're not that expensive.

MrMediaGuy said:
Swap the motor with one of the other three. If it works fine, you have a bad motor. If it still hesitates, you have a bad ESC. Replace it -- don't take a chance trying to fix it; they're not that expensive.

Yes, I switched motors (they are new T-Motors) and they all work fine.

I will purchase a new ESC. Once I install the new one, will I have to do anything with programming using the NAZDA? I have no clue obviously about that tool. I'm sure that I can spend hours learning from YouTube if it's on there.

Thanks for the recommendation!

Not at all -- just make sure you order the correct color (red or green) and solder it in. Then just plug it into the same "M" port on the NAZA and you're done.

MrMediaGuy said: