Erratic Descent On Return To Home

Reaction score
I am an experienced drone pilot with about 50 hours on a new (6 months) Phantom 4. The unit has the latest firmware updates (as does the controller). IMU and Compass are accurately calibrated. I have never had prior issues with interference, and always fly away from houses or other structures.

This afternoon I was descending from 300 ft after engaging the return to home routine. At about 150 ft the drone went out of a controlled descent and moved at high speed to the right. I quickly brought it under control, but I have never seen it do that before.

Any idea what could have caused this to happen?

This afternoon I was descending from 300 ft after engaging the return to home routine. At about 150 ft the drone went out of a controlled descent and moved at high speed to the right. I quickly brought it under control, but I have never seen it do that before.

Any idea what could have caused this to happen?
Looking at the flight data is usually the way to get an understanding of what's happened in a flight.
Go to https://www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/Upload/
Follow the instructions to upload your flight record.

Thanks! I was able to upload all of my DAT files from my Phantom 4 to my PC. When I try to upload the most recent DAT file using the LogViewer/Upload utility I get an error "Site Can't Be Reached'. Any idea why that's happening?

i was able to watch my flight on the DJI App on my IPad. at approx 100 Ft, the screen says: 'Locating Landing Point'. It is at that exact moment that the horizontal speed went from 0 to nearly 7 mph. That's the exact point I took over control and landed the Phantom. Any ideas what may be causing that to happen?