Drones & gliding

Reaction score
In pursuit of longer flight times and better aerodynamics. Would adding large, very light weight wings be feasible with a drone the size/weight of a phantom? I imagine it might add substantial flight time by reducing drag, increasing lift and reducing motor load. Any aeronautics engineer here available for some calculations?

I'm no aeronautical engineer but I can see that wings would not work.
I suspect that a typical drone flight would have a high percentage of maneuvers where wings would be more of a hindrance than a benefit, ie when ascending, defending, hovering etc.
Even during forward flight where wings could help, the angle of attack of the wing will vary with speed and would be wrong the majority of the time and would make the drone have to work harder not less, to maintain altitude.

Since the quad has to pitch forward to fly to fly forward...at what angle of attack would you have the wings.? Even if you came up with an angle for forward flight, you would be screwed for every other direction. That's only one problem.

Reactions: LWC1496
I'm no aeronautical engineer but I can see that wings would not work.
I suspect that a typical drone flight would have a high percentage of maneuvers where wings would be more of a hindrance than a benefit, ie when ascending, defending, hovering etc.
Even during forward flight where wings could help, the angle of attack of the wing will vary with speed and would be wrong the majority of the time and would make the drone have to work harder not less, to maintain altitude.
You posted as I was typing....we are on the same page though

I know parrot is coming out with a fpv fixed wing drone sometime this year. I would wait for that and see how it goes. Supposedly can do up to 50mph. I wonder how the range will be on it though.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app