Drones abroad? Traveling on a cruise, restrictions

Reaction score
Are there restrictions for traveling with a DJI drone? As in, will I have any issues at the airport? I'm going on a cruise in December, leaving Florida, going to the Bahamas, a private island, then back to Florida. Should I even bother bringing it? or will I get in trouble for having it at the Bahamas? I don't want to waste the money to check it on the plane, and carry it around if I don't have to. I think I would get amazing shots.. and make a great video, but I don't know if it's worth the extra money, headache of possibly getting in trouble, destroying it, or even having it confiscated while on an island.

If anyone has any experience, please help me out.

As an officer in the U.S. Navy, I would advise against this. Not due to any restrictions, but rather the odds of losing your bird. I'm a public affairs officer and I know aboard the ships I've served on, our cameras and microphones go totally haywire due to the radars and electrical interference. I would imagine your going to experience the same on a cruise ship, although not as bad aboard an aircraft carrier. While the photos would be amazing, I just wouldn't risk it.

Dave

Davehecht said:
As an officer in the U.S. Navy, I would advise against this. Not due to any restrictions, but rather the odds of losing your bird. I'm a public affairs officer and I know aboard the ships I've served on, our cameras and microphones go totally haywire due to the radars and electrical interference. I would imagine your going to experience the same on a cruise ship, although not as bad aboard an aircraft carrier. While the photos would be amazing, I just wouldn't risk it.

Dave